In theory, in order to bend wood, you have to create a mold repeatedly. This process is very expensive to make and becomes financially interesting only by using the mold a certain quantity of time. With the experience of building prototypes, unique pieces or small series, we wanted to create a process in order to bend wood easily. Therefore, we mixed sheets of veneer with sheets of plastic to get a material that heat would make more flexible.

We can curve it, twist it without a mold during 15 minutes. By that time, it gets cold again, simply holding it with clamps to maintain it in position. Once it is cold it holds the position with only around 5 % of movement back to original position depending on the radius we gave to it. For the very thin pieces built by twisting it without a structure, we observed a small deformation with time because of the variations of temperature. The thickness has therefore to be chosen according to the design of the object and its function. A suspended luminaire can be built in 2mm thickness, whereas a seat needs around 10mm.

In order to manufacture optimum radius for our curves, we have to put the woodgrain perpendicular to the curve. To increase the radius of our curve, we established a partnership with the technology of “Bois Dentelle de Dalbergia” and its micro holes through the veneer.

Use : Cabinet making – Interior architecture – Interior layout – Convention – Showroom display – Sculpture

En Théorie, pour cintrer du bois, nous avons besoin d’un moule. Cette matrice est très couteuse à réaliser, elle est amortie finan- cièrement par la répétition des moulages. A force de réaliser des prototypes, pièces uniques ou petites séries, nous avons voulu créer un bois cintrable facilement. Nous avons donc mixé des feuilles de plastique avec des feuilles de bois pour arriver à un matériau qui sous l’effet de la chaleur devient malléable.

On peut le cintrer, le vriller sans aucune matrice pendant les 15min de refroidissement à l’aide de simples tendeurs ou pinces de maintien. Il y a une distension d’environ 5% observée suivant les rayons de courbure. Pour les épaisseurs fines et les formes libres (non maintenu par structure) on observe une légère déformation dans le temps dû ou variation de chaleur. L’épaisseur à choisir dépend donc du dessin de l’objet et de sa fonction. Une suspension lumineuse peut-être réalisée avec du 2mm quand une assise demande du 10mm.

Afin de réaliser des rayons de courbures optimales, il est indispensable de mettre le veinage du bois perpendiculaire au sens de cintrage. Pour augmenter considérablement ces rayons de cintrage, nous nous sommes associés à la technologie de Bois Dentelle de Dalbergia et ses perforations microscopiques.

Applications : Ebénisterie d’art – Architecture d’intérieur – Agencement – Evènementiel – PLV – Sculpture